Left-Over Pumpkin Puree

4 Dec

So what do I do with the rest of the pumpkin puree that I made for the pumpkin pie? I was thinking about making a pumpkin ice cream, but them my husband thought about making a persimmon ice cream with the coconut milk so I let him have fun with that (he used the fuyu ones, but I think it might have been better with ripe hachiya, so will have to explore more on that later). So I made some pumpkin spice bars! I found a recipe from Lynn’s Recipe Adventures called Gluten-Free Chocolate Pumpkin Bars, where I substituted the egg with EnerG Egg Replacer and left out the chocolate chips completely. My husband needed the chocolate chips for my birthday cake frosting. (I’ll see if he can share the recipe he used for my birthday cake, it was so good!)

The pumpkin bars came out so moist and delicious. I would definitely try adding the chocolate chips next time. I will look into non-dairy cream cheese frosting to put on top of this pumpkin bar and I think I’ll be in heaven.

Leave a Reply

