Oven-Baked Taro Fries

12 Nov

So after making and eating sweet potato fries the other day, I decided to try a different root. I’m talking about the big heavy taro roots, not the little individual bite size ones. I also tried baking them differently than from the sweet potato fries since those didn’t come out as crispy as I wanted them. I used aluminum foil instead of parchment paper to see if that made a difference.

I peeled then sliced a large taro root into rectangles that made a decent size fry. I dusted them with some garlic powder and coated them with extra virgin olive oil (since that’s the only kind I had in my cupboard, however I learned that regular virgin olive oil is better since it has a better high-heat  index and won’t burn). I then sprinkled some white rice flour over them hoping that this would help get the taro fries crispy since it usually works in the fried version. I placed aluminum foil on a baking pan and tossed the coated fries onto the baking pan, making sure all fries were in one layer.

Oven was preheated at 400 degrees and I started baking them for 7 minutes first to just see how they would bake. I turned the pan around and baked for 11 minutes. My husband added another 10 minutes to that and again turned the pan around. We decided to bake it another 5 minutes.

Once out of the oven I added kosher salt and fresh ground pepper on top of them, let them cool for a bit, then served. The taro root fries were crispy!!! And tasted yummy. We probably didn’t need the extra 5 minutes at the end. So either the recipe turned out crispy because of the foil or because I added the rice flour… will have to investigate another time but am happy with the results!

2 Responses to “Oven-Baked Taro Fries”

  1. Homa November 16, 2011 at 10:34 PM #

    I had never considered the heat implications of regular versus extra virgin olive oil! This sounds like a good recipe to try. I found you via the circle of moms, we deal with food allergies as well, thank you for sharing!

    • mantousmom November 17, 2011 at 8:28 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by! I also have looked at your blog through circle of moms 🙂 I didn’t find anything wrong with using extra virgin olive oil but I guess the regular stuff has the higher heat index so you don’t have to worry about burning your fries.

Leave a Reply

