Scallion Pancakes

26 Oct

Wow, I can’t believe Wikipedia has an article for cong you bing. I love these green onion pancakes. While in China, my husband and I had our favorite street vendor that we’d buy about 2 kuai worth. It is a flat pancake like roti that is thin and layered with green onions folded within the layers. In the US, many Chinese restaurants serve cong you bing as a weekender snack along with other specialties like sweet warm soy bean milk with Chinese doughnuts. A couple of restaurants in our neighborhood sell them. Alas, they are made from wheat flour so I haven’t had been able to savor those fine snacks. Well guess what? I found a recipe for making these green onion pancakes online from “Diet, Dessert, and Dogs” and finally got around to trying it this weekend.

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups plus 2 Tbsp (360 ml) Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free flour

2 Tbsp (30 ml) glutenous rice flour

3/4 tsp (3.5 ml) Bob’s Red Mill Xanthan gum

1/2 cup to 10 Tbsp (120-150 ml) warm water

2-3 Tbsp (30-45 ml) extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp pepper, optional

3 green onions, white and light green parts

Combine the all-purpose gluten-free flour, rice flour and xanthan gum into a bowl and whisk to combine well.  Add the warm water slowly and mix with your hands till it forms a soft dough. Form the dough into a ball and cover with a damp cloth; let rest for 15-20 minutes.

Prepare the surface area to roll out dough by covering with a light layer of all-purpose flour. Roll out the dough to a disk of around 12-14 inches, dust with flour as needed to keep from sticking.  Brush lightly with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and green onions.

Roll up the dough tightly to form a long roll. The dough will be a little dry so be careful the roll doesn’t fall apart. Cut the roll in half and pinch the ends closed.  Stand each roll up and push down on the dough to create two pancakes. By doing this you are creating the layers. Flatten out the pancakes using a rolling pin or your hand to make it to desired thickness (flatter is better).

Heat a frying pan over medium heat and add about 1 tbsp of olive oil.  Place the pancake into the pan cook for 4-5 minutes or until the bottom is a crisp brown. Gently flip the pancake and cook the other side another 3-4 minutes. Do the same for the other pancake.

Cut each pancake into 4 pieces and serve immediately. Use chili sauce and or wheat-free soy sauce for dipping sauce.

By the way, the picture above is of the first pancake which was on the thicker side. For the second one, I decided to flatten out more and it was super yummy this way. Also, I thought this picture was great since in the background you see Mantou peeking to see what was on the table.

5 Responses to “Scallion Pancakes”

  1. Ricki October 27, 2011 at 5:53 AM #

    Thanks so much for giving the pancakes a try! And so glad you liked them. Mantou is too, too cute! 😀

    • mantousmom October 28, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

      Thanks Ricki for the recipe! I will be making them again, it was gone way too fast.

  2. myspork November 1, 2011 at 10:06 AM #

    These look awesome. I’ve made something similar before, but haven’t since I was diagnosed with my annoyingly present food allergies.

    So, I was wondering… I didn’t see any amine allergy resources on your blog.

    That’s what I’ve been diagnosed with, and in the process of learning what it is and how to eat on a low amine diet, I have worked hard to create a network of helpful sites to connect allergy sites to other allergy sites. It seems like a lot of people that have one allergy also have one or more other allergies.

    I love what you’ve put together here – there are some helpful tools here. I’ve got a few of my own on my blog, too.

    Low Amine Recipes
    http://aminerecipes.com

    I wonder if you would mind linking to my blog? I’m hoping that by connecting allergy blogs to one another, we’ll be able to help our readership even more in the long run.

    Keep up the great work (good luck in the contest)!

    – Michelle Ferris
    Low Amine Recipes
    http://aminerecipes.com

    • mantousmom November 2, 2011 at 10:23 PM #

      HI Michelle, thanks for dropping by! I don’t have any resources about amine allergy so I will look over your low amine recipe blog. Removing ingredients from normal everyday recipes can be tough but I see you’ve embraced it with your own blog. I’m sure I’ll find some good recipes there.

      • myspork November 3, 2011 at 7:59 AM #

        Amine allergies are pretty weird. The list of no-no’s is long, but it tends to coincide with a lot of other allergies, so I’m hoping that it helps more than just those on a low amine diet, but helps people with nut allergies, tomato allergies, and other allergies as well. If you have any suggestions for my blog, I’d love to hear them!

        -Michelle
        Low Amine Recipes
        http://aminerecipes.com

Leave a Reply

