Fishy face

19 Oct

Tonight I was home alone with Mantou while his dad, Red Duck, was off on a business trip. I wanted to make something easy, usually Mantou gets antsy and requires full attention while I prepare dinner. He rather me play than to make his dinner.  So I went downtown and picked up a couple of Tilapia fillets (about 1 lb) and some spinach at the local market. While on the way home I was deciding between pan-frying them or putting them in the oven. By the time I arrived home, I decided on baking them. This way I let the oven do all the work while I could focus on my little mantou. Thank goodness he decided to let me at least get the fish in the oven.

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees and then prepped the fillets. I slathered them with olive oil, squeezed some lemon, sprinkled some salt, dusted them with oregano, and ground up some pepper on top. I put them in the oven and baked for 10-15 minutes checking once to see if they were done. They were pretty flaky at 15 minutes. As those cooled I sauteed some spinach with garlic and salt.

Mantou has had fish before but I was very surprised at how much he enjoyed the tilapia. I thought the oregano would be much for him but he didn’t mind. After finishing his first bowl, he asked for more. Whoo hoo! Fish is great for the brain, right… I think I’ll teach him algebra tomorrow. haha, just kidding.

BTW, you may have noticed that Red Duck had posted an entry last week. I had asked him to start blogging too since he’s very much involved in eating allergy-free as well. I hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

