Asian Cooking

12 Oct

Even though I have the Gluten-Free Asian Kitchen cookbook checked-out from the library, I had yet to make anything from it. It’s not that I didn’t find any good recipes, it’s just that I have been so LAZY. To tell you the truth, I liked the recipes in the book so much that I actually bought it too. I really do want to make the dumplings that the author, Laura B. Russell, has shared in her cookbook, but I never seem to have enough time to get it started.

I did eventually get to make the Teriyaki Sauce based on her recipe using wheat-free tamari, honey, ginger, garlic, and mirin. I baked some skinless, boneless chicken breasts in the oven and then coated them with the sauce. I thought the sauce was a little thin though. I was expecting the mix to thicken but it never did so not sure what I did wrong. I’ll have to try it again since it was pretty easy to do. Plus the amount was just right, however if there was any left over, it can be kept in the refrigerator for 2 weeks.

I don’t want to share the recipe since I think everyone should really go check out the cookbook. Laura does a really good job at listing out what specific brands and ingredients that she uses. I know this will help because I know how it is to go through all the aisles in a grocery store (non-Asian and Asian) reading the ingredients over and over again just to make sure that there aren’t specific allergens. One thing I wish that the cookbook has was more pictures of the recipes. Since I do know most of the dishes, I guess going on my own memory could work, but a gentle reminder would definitely make it easier for me to know what I am cooking… of course just looking it up on the internet would probably work too.

One Response to “Asian Cooking”

  1. filipino recipe October 28, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

    having this information is very meaningful for me, I will be get back to this later to see this full page.

Leave a Reply

