Maple and Bacon Ice Cream

1 Oct

If you live in the San Francisco area you have likely heard of interesting ice cream concoctions from places like Bi-Rite Creamery or Humphrey Slocombe. I visited these two places on separate occasions before I started restricting dairy from my diet. I can’t recall what I got from Bi-Rite but I remember trying some balsamic vinaigrette type flavor at Humphrey Slocombe. Just trying to be adventurous some times!

Well, after making our Hawaiian Kalua Pork recipe I had a pack of smoked bacon that I needed to use. My husband had a light bulb go off – make an ice cream with bacon in it! Really… that kind of sounds off. So I go online to look for recipes and saw one by David Lebovitz called Candied Bacon Ice Cream, but it had milk and eggs in his recipe. There were other recipes but again the recipes called for eggs. It seemed like a bacon ice cream was done but not done without eggs.

So I got myself thinking… what kind of ice cream would go with bacon? My thoughts turned to a breakfast theme and immediately maple syrup popped in my head. If I can find a non-dairy maple syrup ice cream recipe and add the candied bacon from Mr. Lebovitz’s recipe then I would have the most awesome non-dairy maple bacon ice cream EVER!

I started with a recipe from a blogger who made a Vegan Maple Walnut Ice Cream. I didn’t use walnuts because of Mantou’s allergies. I also did not have arrowroot powder on hand so I altered the recipe to use xanthan gum instead (and I also learned that you cannot substitute arrowroot powder to xanthan gum 1 to 1… that experience will be in my next blog)

For the candied bacon:

  • 5 strips bacon
  • brown sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Sprinkle brown sugar over bacon and place on a rack. Place in over for 20 mins or until crispy. Flip bacon over midway to apply more brown sugar. Let cool and chop up bacon to bitty pieces to be used in ice cream in last 5 minutes of ice cream cycle.

 

 

For Maple Syrup Ice Cream:

  • 1 can heavy coconut milk
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla

In medium sized bowl, stir in 2 cans of coconut milk. Sprinkle xanthan gum slowly and sparingly, making sure it does not clump. Add maple syrup and vanilla and mix well. Let mix cool in refrigerator til ready to freeze. Follow instructions from your ice cream maker to make ice cream. Add the bacon bits in last 5 minutes of churning.

For Maple & Butter Sauce topping:

  • 1/4 cup Maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp non-dairy margarine
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

In small sauce pan melt margarine on med-low then add the maple syrup and brown sugar till sugar is dissolved. For a thicker consistency continue to heat over med-low and continue to stir.

Lessons learned:

I find letting the ice cream mixture cool in the refrigerator helps with the ice cream churning process. Some recipes seem to favor a minimum of 4 hours for recipes which call for heating the ice cream mixture in the preparation step. This recipe did not need to be heated but I still put the mixture in the fridge. I find it keeps the ice cream maker happier.

Home made ice cream gets hard after a day in our freezer, so before serving I kept the ice cream out for 30 minutes. If you can’t wait that long 15 minutes min seems to be ok too.

The maple and butter sauce will solidify in room tempterature. I put the remaining sauce in a jar and kept it in the refrigerator for the next use. Then when I wanted to use it again I scooped up a couple of teaspoons and zapped it in the microwave for 20 seconds and add a little water to get it more saucy.

Leave a Reply

