Nice Try Brownie Mix

26 Sep

I was so looking forward to making gluten-free brownies after finding a pre-mix from Trader Joe’s. I figured I could just substitute the eggs by using the Ener-G egg replacer and follow the rest of the ingredients as the package mentioned. Ugh, this was one of the worst experiences I have ever had with a gluten-free pre-made mix. The ingredient list calls for a lot of oil. The package does mention that a “healthier version” would be to replace all the oil with applesauce – which when I think back, should have- but was mentioned as an after thought. When I first mixed it up I should have known that something was not right. The dough was very not cake-like and consistency was very solid. After baking for the recommended time I peaked in and the mix was bubbling but not in a good way. I added 10 minutes to the cooking time because I figured it was not ready. I was trying to find a short-cut and this was not it. Back to the drawing board on brownie mixes. Either that, use apple sauce instead of all that oil or find a home-made brownie recipe.

Leave a Reply

