Leggo My Wheat-free, Dairy-free, Egg-free Waffle

9 Sep

A few posts back I had asked if anyone had suggestions on getting us out of our breakfast rut. Mantou did not seem interested in his oatmeal anymore. So I followed your advice. 1) I added yogurt to his oatmeal. I bought unsweetened soy yogurt; alone Mantou didn’t like the tartness so I had to add a teaspoon of sugar. He took a few spoonfuls of this and that was good enough for me. 2) I found Trader Joe’s wheat-free frozen waffles which are also dairy-free and egg-free. I gave Mantou a toasted waffle for breakfast the next day. He looked like he was into it but after a few bites he started pulling it apart instead of eating much of it. 3) Safeway had a sale on Van’s Natural Foods gluten-free and wheat-free blueberry waffles this past week. I bought them since it had his favorite fruit, blueberries. Again he preferred to pull it apart than eat it.

I think Mantou may have been teething so he was just unhappy with food in general. A few nights ago he kept waking up in the middle of the night. When we went in to check on him he was sitting in his crib with his finger in his mouth.  I think the brunt of his teething pain has subsided so he is his happy self again and is fine with eating his oatmeal again. But I will continue with alternating breakfast items and figure out what other things I can give him.

Leave a Reply

