One Spicy Town

7 Sep

Again, my husband and I tried making a recipe from the Gluten Free Goddess. We’ll probably be experimenting more with her recipes because she has wheat-free recipes and provides egg-free and dairy-free substitutions as well. She even posts pictures of her recipes so it looks inspiring and delicious. How I can get my stuff to look like hers though is another story.

This time we made an oven bread recipe called Pueblo Bread with Green Chiles. The title of my blog is “One Spicy Town” because pueblo means town (according to Wikipedia pueblo evolved from the Latin word, populus, meaning “town”).

We made it and  it was spicy. I might have added a few too many Serrano chiles, I was following directions which called for 1/2 cup. The texture of the bread was a bit grainy probably because we used polenta style cornmeal instead. We ground our own buckwheat too, not sure if that made a difference to texture. We didn’t include minced onions either so that may have affected the taste. We allowed the dough to rise in the heated oven but I don’t think it was long enough because the dough didn’t double in size, and so probably made the bread dense.

Overall it was edible, but if I had to judge it based on my Yum’s scale on the Munchies page, I would say it was a 1.

Leave a Reply

