Day Care Precaution

2 Sep

Mantou goes to a Mandarin bilingual day care. His main care providers there speak predominately Chinese and limited English. When we learned of Mantou’s allergies, we immediately discussed the allergies and gave them a written list of known allergies in English and translated into Chinese.  We also gave them an Epi-Pen and tried to explain how to use it.

Earlier this year Mantou had a bad allergic reaction to something at day care. To this day we do not know what the culprit was. The care takers were sure that they did not feed him anything outside of what we had prepared him, nor had he picked up anything and put it in his mouth. (I found out later that one the care taker’s husband’s grand-daughter also has food allergies. So she understands the seriousness of food allergies – it puts me at ease knowing this).

When I went to pick him up, Mantou was crying uncontrollably and had large red welts all over his body. Fortunately, he did not have an anaphylactic reaction. It was very heart-wrenching to see my baby in so much anguish. He did not want to be left alone even to be put in his car seat.

I’m glad the day care provider called me right away. I do worry that I will not get to him fast enough if the allergic reaction were to be more serious. I surely believe the daycare will provide the appropriate attention but one never knows. I was glad to find an Allergy Action Plan from the Food Allergy Anaphylaxis Network (FAAP) in multiple languages. They can be printed and given to teachers, day care providers, baby sitters, grandparents, or whomever anyone is placed in care of your children. I still need someone to translate it for me but it will come in handy.

Leave a Reply

