PB Cookie Substitute

5 Aug

Made my first batch of sunflower butter cookies tonight. I followed this recipe close enough except for the substitutions of all-purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill GF Flour Mix + 1/4 tsp xanthan gum), butter (margarine) and 1 large egg (3 tablespoon of unsweetened apple sauce, 1 tsp of baking powder). And I forgot about the cinnamon sugar sprinkle till it was already in the oven.

Look: When I took them out of the oven they didn’t quite look like the usual crispy, flakey peanut butter cookie. They almost looked like cookie-sized cakes because they were more “fluffy”. The fork indentations were hardly there, like they were swallowed up by the batter during the baking. Maybe I needed to make deeper fork criss-crosses.

Texture: The edges were brown and crispy but the centers were fluffy. The fluffyness may come from the baking powder for my egg substitute. I’ve used purely applesauce (1/4 cup) without the baking soda before when I baked chocolate chip cookies. This egg substitute was mentioned in Living Without Magazine so I tried it instead. I should have stuck with plain applesauce.

Taste: Still tastes pretty good but not a 1:1 for a peanut butter cookie. I think the flour mix is a bit heavy on the garbanzo bean. The general consensus is that bean flours can taste a little metallic. I’ll have to start putting together my own flour mix just to experiment with taste.

Conclusion: Good start for finding the best sunflower butter cookie recipe that will replace my peanut butter cookies, but will need to experiment more with the egg substitution and flour mixes.

Leave a Reply

