Asian Noodle Options

6 Jan

When I am at at Chinese restaurant that specializes in noodles, there are usually just two noodle types I could choose between, the thin rice vermicelli or the chewy rice ovalettes. I think about getting the rice vermicelli some times but I always end up ordering the rice ovalettes. The vermicelli can be a little bland but the rice ovalettes keep more flavor. I order the dish with salted mustard greens and shredded pork instead of a stir-fried version with soy sauce (most Chinese restaurants don’t have wheat-free Tamari on hand). Since I’m usually ordering the same noodle dish, I figured I could try to learn and make them myself. In doing so I have discovered a whole lot of other options of Asian noodles. There are rice noodles, green bean noodles, potato starch noodles… it’s a whole new world of noodles. Here’s a great write up of 11 types of Gluten-Free Asian Noodles from the Kitchn.

Noodles dishes are a big thing for my family. We intentionally serve noodles during birthdays because long noodles means a long life. We eat nian gao (the rice ovalettes) during Chinese New year. Nian gao translates into sticky cake and my mom says we eat nian gao so that our luck can stick on us and continue into the following year. (Actually there are two versions of nian gao the savory noodle dish or a sweet cake version which is more like a dessert- but for purpose sake I’m writing about the savory dish). I found a recipe online from Steamy Kitchen with great pictures and is probably very similar to what I get at the restaurants. I haven’t tried it out yet but would definitely try it with with wheat-free soy. I would include my own recipe but I haven’t really measured all my ingredients and it’s similar to what I previous wrote in a previous blog entry about Noodles. Seriously all my noodles have similar ingredients but because of the type of noodles I use, the flavors may be slightly different based on the noodle itself. For example, a rice vermicelli noodles stir-fry would need more oil otherwise it would be too dry. I just made a nian gao noodle dish this week that was so good, I altered my ingredients a tad by adding a touch of sesame oil and cilantro. Yummy!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

